The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2001, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 18
Question

Here's one that happened to me a couple of days ago...

HS Softball game using Fed rules. Two outs, R1 is on 2nd base. I am in the "C" slot. The batter hits a shot down the 3rd base line. The shortstop is in motion on contact and stops in the base path between 2nd and 3rd base. R1, coming off 2nd as the ball is contacted, hits the Shortstop and they both hit the dirt. While the collision occured the hit ball was fielded by the 3rd baseman who made the throw to 1st for the out. When all of the contact occured I brought my arm up for the delayed dead ball call, moved to the middle of the diamond to make the call at 1st, dropped my arm, made the out call, and then ignored the collision. No one complained, no coaches protested, so I left it alone got ready for the next inning.

Now I know that everything worked out, but was that the right call, (making no call), to make in that situation. Any rule references that you might have would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1