The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2005, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by booker227
When I'm behind the plate and the batter squares to bunt, holding the bat at the face of the plate and she doesn't take the bat back as the ball crosses the face of the plate and the bat, it's a strike.
Whose rules?

You are correct for NCAA, incorrect for most others. Here is a sentence from ASA POE #10,
Quote:
On a bunt attempt where the batter puts the bat across the plate, unless the batter moves the bat toward the ball, a strike would not be called if the ball is out of the strike zone.
IOW, merely holding the bat over the plate as the pitch arrives is NOT a strike in ASA. The batter must make an attempt at the ball.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1