The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   HBP on hand (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/22692-hbp-hand.html)

outathm Mon Oct 17, 2005 01:08pm

Has this discussion lthis weekend. I say it's a DB strike. If the batter has two strikes, swings and is hit on the hands what is the ruling. NCAA rules please. The guy I was discussing this with said it was diferent in NCAA vs other groups.

Thanks in advance.

JEL Mon Oct 17, 2005 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by outathm
Has this discussion lthis weekend. I say it's a DB strike. If the batter has two strikes, swings and is hit on the hands what is the ruling. NCAA rules please. The guy I was discussing this with said it was diferent in NCAA vs other groups.

Thanks in advance.

NCAA
11.16.b.3.

The pitched ball touches any part of the batter's person as she swings and misses for a third strike.

EFFECT-The ball is dead, the batter is declared out and each runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.

If you made a bet, you won.

baldgriff Mon Oct 17, 2005 01:32pm

It doesnt sound as if she missed the ball though. The batter did hit it and get hit at the same time. Is this a case of whether or not the bat made any contact with the ball or not?


outathm Mon Oct 17, 2005 01:38pm

Baldgriff:

Do not read too uch into it. THis was a hypothetical situation. We were haveing a discussino in the room not an actual field situation. NO bat all hand. Thank JEL but unfortunatly no bet was made.


JEL Mon Oct 17, 2005 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by baldgriff
It doesnt sound as if she missed the ball though. The batter did hit it and get hit at the same time. Is this a case of whether or not the bat made any contact with the ball or not?


But she did miss the ball. If she doesn't hit it with the bat, it is a miss.

whaddayouknow Mon Oct 17, 2005 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by baldgriff
It doesnt sound as if she missed the ball though. The batter did hit it and get hit at the same time. Is this a case of whether or not the bat made any contact with the ball or not?


If that were the case, it would be just like safe/out... you have decide which it was. It either hit the bat first, then the hand (which would be a foul ball), or the hand first, then the bat (which is a 'dead ball' and, if she swung, a strike.)

streamdoc Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:18am

Wait!
 
But blue(s), the hands are part of the bat. Just kidding ;)

outathm Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:48pm

Troy:

I had a D1 coach with that argument last spring. I could not beleive her and she even made me go to my partner and ask him if the hands were part of the bat. He just looked at me and said " Are you kidding?" - "no" - "Well, then are you stupid?". I tried not to laugh and walked back to tell the coach the hands are not part of the bat. When I gave her the page number in the rulebook she ran back to the dugout, looked it up and then thhrew the book across the dugout.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Oct 18, 2005 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by outathm
Troy:

I had a D1 coach with that argument last spring. I could not beleive her and she even made me go to my partner and ask him if the hands were part of the bat. He just looked at me and said " Are you kidding?" - "no" - "Well, then are you stupid?". I tried not to laugh and walked back to tell the coach the hands are not part of the bat. When I gave her the page number in the rulebook she ran back to the dugout, looked it up and then thhrew the book across the dugout.

Yet, the NCAA doesn't want the ASA logo anywhere near their game because they believe it belittles their game as it relates to the "amateur" status. Go figure!

[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Oct 18th, 2005 at 02:21 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1