The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2001, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Well, now there is more information...

I call JO girls fastpitch, some of the team are very young, so that perspective frames my thinking.

Applying ASA 10-6-C is an umpire's judgment. Certainly, for men's A, a valid judgment would be that the umpire's erroneous call did NOT place them in jeopardy, they just didn't execute properly.

Add to this the judgment expressed by Don that "it was very evident even though this was Men's A ball that they did not know they had to advance so with or without the PU call I feel the runners would have not advanced ..."

Umpire's judgment - call of BALL GAME had no bearing on the actions of the runners. Clearly, then, allow the appeal.

Do the same thing with a team of 10U girls, with coaches who are also learning, then I stand by my judgment that applying 10-6-C is correct.

Of course, that begs the question: who in these two 10U teams would know they could even appeal this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1