The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Leaving field of play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/21823-leaving-field-play.html)

rharrell Mon Aug 22, 2005 09:14am


Had this happen in GHSA (NFHS)tournament this weekend. Batter swings for 2nd strike, I call strike. Apparently thinking it's her third, she heads for the dugout. I verbally give the count and also signal the count. She continues inside the dugout.

Is this an out for leaving the field of play? Should I have been more forceful and individually called back the batter?

Unrelated, it was a miserable hot day (heat index @ 105-110) and we lost some umpires and players to the heat. Nothing real serious, fortunately.

CecilOne Mon Aug 22, 2005 09:51am

Rules say batter is out.

Preventive umpiring says call time before the batter reaches the dugout to "check the count" with your partner.

CelticNHBlue Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12am

Cecil is correct that the rule calls for the batter to be called out for leaving the field of play. I also agree that preventative officiating can save you by calling time and sorting things out. On the other hand, I really hate to give up a free out like that.

bluezebra Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:14pm

"I verbally give the count and also signal the count. She continues inside the dugout."

Preventive umpiring WAS applied here. Verbal and visual signalling the count is enough. The batter, two base coaches, and the bench personnel were all asleep.

Tough noogies. OUT!!!

Bob

AtlUmpSteve Mon Aug 22, 2005 01:17pm

Much as I would also like the out, the rules cited do not apply. The rules calling a player out for abandonment, or leaving the field of play, NFHS 8-6.21, refers only to a runner; the batter with two strikes has not become a runner. NFHS Rule 8-2.4 states a batter-runner would be out if entering a team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls, a hit batter, a dropped third strike, or catcher obstruction. Unfortunately, a batter with two strikes has not become a batter-runner, nor has any of the qualifiers occurred.

Unless I am missing something, the only rule in Rule 7 (Batting) which might then apply is leaving the batters box and delaying the game, at the risk of a penalty strike. However, that would be really pushing the issue; I couldn't see invoking that rule unless the batter (or team) had been warned multiple times for delay.

whiskers_ump Mon Aug 22, 2005 01:26pm

I agree with Steve on this.....The batter should be afforded the opportunity
to complete her turn at bat. Have had this happen on occassions, and each time
have simply called the batter back to complete her turn at bat. Never had any
problem with the defensive coach. For all anyone knows, the batter could have been
going to dugout for a different bat.


rharrell Mon Aug 22, 2005 04:38pm

Originally I called her out, then called time and conferenced with the BU. Brought her back out, and BU explained to defensive coach this was a "correctable error" since she should have been called back. He bought it, but Steve's "not a runner" explanation would have been clearer.

She walked, but was called out on 1st for leaving early.

debeau Tue Aug 23, 2005 02:19am

Steves got it right and whiskers explains it well .
The batter hasnt finished their turn at bat , call them back and let them finish .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1