The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2001, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Chuck

A couple things to remember on a obstruction call, the runner is protected to the base you believe they would of made had there been no obstruction

SIT: R1 at 2nd B2 hits deep fly to right which is not caught , R1 runs into F6 standing in R1's basepath knocks R1 down then R1 gets up goes to 3rd, B2 stops at 2nd, you the ump ruled obstruction in your judgement had there not been obstruction R1 would of made it home and B2 to third then that is what you would award

or if R1 got put out at a close play at home it would then become a dead ball and you would then award home and B2 to third if in your judgement that is what would of happen had there not been obstruction.

So there are situations where the obstructed runner can be protected past one base.

But in same situation you think R1 would of just made it to 3rd without being obstructed and R1 gets put out coming into home the obstruction is no longer in effect and R1 is out, that is the reason for the delayed call the runner is protected to the base you believe they would of made after that anything goes

Hope this helps

Don
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1