The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Question, I'm confused (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/21297-question-im-confused.html)

leprechaun Thu Jul 14, 2005 06:13pm

In mens league slow pitch softball (ASA rules). Runner on first, 1 out. Batter hits a grounder to first. Runner on first does not leave the base. First baseman tags runner on first and then steps on the bag. The umpire ruled batter was out, but runner on first was not. I found a rule about two runners on the same base stating that the last to arrive is out, my question is is there a difference when the runner must advance, or does the runner not have to advance. Just confused is all. P.S. We still won the game so it really doesn't matter, just wondering.

MrRabbit Thu Jul 14, 2005 06:50pm

Umpire Boo Boo. Two out, runner on first forced to run, first base bag offers no protection if player tags runner before stepping on bag as stated.

leprechaun please state rule for about two runners on the same base stating that the last to arrive is out?


noobie Thu Jul 14, 2005 06:55pm

Humm. Weird. I'm confused too.

The rule you're probably referring to is 8.3.E, but it specifically does NOT apply in this situation (R1 was forced). I can't find anything in the ASA rule book or the case book that would support that call.

Maybe your ump was just having a bad night (it happens), failing to see a 3-4-3 double play s/he might have expected in his head. Brain farts happen, I know.

Or maybe there's another hole in the rule book. I'll let somebody else with more experience chime in here; but this one just doesn't register with me.

I woulda called both runners out based on what F3 (the 1st baseman) did, though, if that's any comfort to you (probably not).

Glad you won your game :)

leprechaun Thu Jul 14, 2005 07:19pm

I'm not sure of the actual rule number (I don't have an official rule book), I just googled asa rules and found one that talks about two runners occupying the same base.

TexBlue Thu Jul 14, 2005 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by leprechaun
In mens league slow pitch softball (ASA rules). Runner on first, 1 out. Batter hits a grounder to first. Runner on first does not leave the base. First baseman tags runner on first and then steps on the bag. The umpire ruled batter was out, but runner on first was not. .............
If all events occurred as you've told it, the runner on 1st is out. They have to leave the bag to go to 2nd. If, however, the fielder stepped on 1st, first (?????) then the force is off and the runner is safe.

leprechaun Thu Jul 14, 2005 08:26pm

No he did tag the runner first, then the bag. Thanks for the response.

mcrowder Fri Jul 15, 2005 07:58am

2 outs. Umpire brain fart.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1