![]() |
RE: Girls 18U ASA Fastpitch Rule
If a batter bunts a ball and the ball hits the dropped bat in fair territory what is the result? |
I had this happen several times in my ASA 12U and 14U games. The first time it happened, I didn't know what to call. Didn't call anything and no one complained. Turns out that if the bat is rested on the ground and the ball rolls and hits the bat, "no call". If the bat hits the ball while on its way to the ground, "batter is out". That's a double hit... Batter is not allowed to hit ball twice.
|
NSA says
NSA Rule book says if there appears to be intention then the batter is out. But I do not have an ASA book. So I did not know if they have the same verbage about intention.
Thanks. |
That is one place that ASA and NFHS differ. In ASA there doesn't have to be intent. If the batt hits the ball a second time, the batter is out. If the ball hits the bat laying on the ground, play on. NFHS says there must be intent for the batter to be out. Dave
|
Most every umpire I know uses the same rule of thumb here. If the bat hits the ball then the batter is out, ball is dead and runners cannot advance. If the batter drops the bat and the ball rolls into the bat (in fair territory) the ball is ruled a live fair ball. Hope this helps
|
NSA
NSA doesn't require intent. This is a general playing rule. Bat hits ball in fair territory, its an out. Once the bat is on the ground, its considered dirt.
|
If the batter is still holding the bat and in the batter box, it's a foul, not an out.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07pm. |