The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   infield fly and interference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/20901-infield-fly-interference.html)

shipwreck Thu Jun 16, 2005 04:12pm

Infield fly ruled. Runner on second interferes with shortstop camped under infield fly ball. Do we get two outs? One for infield fly and one from interference? In the NFHS case book, I found a play where the runner who had lead off second was contacted by the ball during a infield fly and the runner and the batter were out, but couldn't find a ruling on my scenario. Please site a NFHS, ASA or NCAA rule number. Thanks, Dave

chiquita Thu Jun 16, 2005 05:57pm

I may be wrong....but doesnt the infield fly rule only effect the batter? The batter is out, but everything continues as normal. The runners can advance at risk, so the fielder should be able to catch the ball and maybe make a play for the runner without being "interfered" with. I vote for 2 outs.

tcannizzo Thu Jun 16, 2005 06:35pm

INT takes precedence over IFF.

INT R2 is Out
BR gets 1st
All other R's return to base.

IMHO, if you allow the IFF it would allow other runners to advance at their own risk. With bases loaded, R1 would get to score. Don't allow the run. Stick with INT.

[Edited by tcannizzo on Jun 16th, 2005 at 07:38 PM]

blue_ape Thu Jun 16, 2005 07:34pm

"INT takes precedence over IFF."

Then two outs.
ASA 8-7-J EXCEPTION "If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball (fair or foul)with ordinary effort, the batter is also out."



tcannizzo Thu Jun 16, 2005 09:31pm

Good call John.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 17, 2005 06:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by tcannizzo
INT takes precedence over IFF.

INT R2 is Out
BR gets 1st
All other R's return to base.

IMHO, if you allow the IFF it would allow other runners to advance at their own risk. With bases loaded, R1 would get to score. Don't allow the run. Stick with INT.

[Edited by tcannizzo on Jun 16th, 2005 at 07:38 PM]

No, the batter is already out due to the IF. The INT by the runner is a separate action for which s/he is still accountable.


tcannizzo Fri Jun 17, 2005 06:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
No, the batter is already out due to the IF. The INT by the runner is a separate action for which s/he is still accountable.

[/B]
So, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B with no outs, B4 hits a pop-up to F2, R3 interferes with F2 causing F2 to drop the ball.

B4 Out on the IFF
R3 is Out for INT
R2 is placed back on 2B
R1 is placed back on 3B

?

mcrowder Fri Jun 17, 2005 08:36am

Ding ding ding... we have a winner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1