The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Y.M.T.C 6-14-05 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/20866-y-m-t-c-6-14-05-a.html)

SeattleMetroUmp Tue Jun 14, 2005 02:33pm


Guys this was posted on our Washington ASA Website:


R1 on 3B, breaks for home on the pitch. B2 hits a shot up the third-base foul line. R1 sees the ball coming at her and freezes, straddling the foul line. The ball hits her right hip, and bounds over towards the fence. F5, going after the ball, colides with R1 after R1 gets hit with the ball, sending both to the ground. F2 gets to the ball, but doesn't make any throw. B2 makes it safely to 1B.

a) R1 is out for interference. B2 safe at 1B.
b) R1 is obstructed by F5 and awarded home. B2 safe at 1B.
c) Foul ball. B2 bats again, R1 sent back to 3B.
d) Foul ball. B2 bats again, R1 is out for interference
e) R1 is out for interference, B1 is out for the play that would have happened had R1 not interfered with the ball.

What is your answer and why?


Mike

BretMan Tue Jun 14, 2005 02:38pm

Was the runners right hip over foul ground. That isn't explicit, but it is implied.

If so, I pick "C".

Dakota Tue Jun 14, 2005 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SeattleMetroUmp

Guys this was posted on our Washington ASA Website:


R1 on 3B, breaks for home on the pitch. B2 hits a shot up the third-base foul line. R1 sees the ball coming at her and freezes, straddling the foul line. The ball hits her right hip, and bounds over towards the fence. F5, going after the ball, colides with R1 after R1 gets hit with the ball, sending both to the ground. F2 gets to the ball, but doesn't make any throw. B2 makes it safely to 1B.

a) R1 is out for interference. B2 safe at 1B.
b) R1 is obstructed by F5 and awarded home. B2 safe at 1B.
c) Foul ball. B2 bats again, R1 sent back to 3B.
d) Foul ball. B2 bats again, R1 is out for interference
e) R1 is out for interference, B1 is out for the play that would have happened had R1 not interfered with the ball.

What is your answer and why?


Mike

c) ASA Rules 8-8-E; 1-FOUL BALL-C.

mcrowder Tue Jun 14, 2005 03:19pm

Any contact after the ball hit the runner is irrelevant - ball is already dead.

I agree with C, but have one question. The post says F5 is "Going for the ball". Does F5 have a chance to catch this ball on the fly? If so, I have D instead of C.

bkbjones Tue Jun 14, 2005 03:43pm

Ask SRW
 
I'm wondering if this wasn't something that happened in a game with SRW???

And, SeattleMetroUmp, here's a question: should we add more time to the game clock to sort it out????

NSABlue Tue Jun 14, 2005 03:52pm

Your post doesn't say if it's a ground ball or a line drive. It sounds as though (if it's a ground ball) that if the ball hit her in the right thigh then it must have been a foul ball. I pick "C"

SRW Tue Jun 14, 2005 03:56pm

Why would you ask me? ;) :D

Line drive.

F5 couldn't have made the play with ordinary effort.

mcrowder Tue Jun 14, 2005 04:04pm

Ordinary effort is not the standard that should apply here (or to ANY interference situations).

Is there ANY way F5 could have caught the ball (i.e. his BEST, perfect effort). If so, this is interference with an attempted play. You should be able to use the word "impossible" when describing F5's chances. If you can, and a catch was NOT POSSIBLE, then there's no play to be interfered with.

SRW Tue Jun 14, 2005 04:19pm

Ok.
Clarification:
No fielder had a chance to make an out. Not even F5.

SeattleMetroUmp Tue Jun 14, 2005 04:28pm

Stop the Clock
 
Actually Jones the home plate umpire would stop his clock, get in the face of the coach for stalling and even asking their stupid question, and then restart the game.

Ah the fun of weekend J.O. tournaments!!!!


Mike


streamdoc Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:15am

Then there's another one of our brethren who would recite a two and a half hour PhD thesis to each coach, and not even touch the original issue. And I quote, "it's interference coach, not obstruction, and I'm not going to answer your question until you use the proper terminology."
Clock running the whole time.

SRW Wed Jun 15, 2005 08:54am

Re: Stop the Clock
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SeattleMetroUmp
Actually Jones the home plate umpire would stop his clock, get in the face of the coach for stalling and even asking their stupid question, and then restart the game.

Ah the fun of weekend J.O. tournaments!!!!


Mike


You sure that's Jones and not Horn?

Andy Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by SRW
Ok.
Clarification:
No fielder had a chance to make an out. Not even F5.

With this information, I have either a) or c).

As I visualize R1 "straddling" the third base foul line facing home, her right hip would most likely be over foul ground. Once the ball hits her in the right hip, it is a foul ball and dead.

This leads me to choose option c) Foul ball. B2 bats again, R1 sent back to 3B.

officialtony Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:16am

I am in agreement with c.)
The hip of R3 is probably over foul territory, and if so, we have a foul ball/dead ball. R3 goes back to 3rd and batter is charged with a strike.
F5's efforts after the dead ball scenario are unimportant unless F5 was trying to hurt R3. USC if she was. Otherwise - play ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1