The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2005, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Happened last evening during my 12 and under 2.75 hour game (no time limit).

R1 at 3B and B2 is right handed batter. Passed ball hits backstop, and veers off to right toward home team dugout. R1 is attempting to score on passed ball. B2 is backing away from possible play at home plate. I even motioned for B2 to back out of the way. When F2 retrieves ball, B2 is directly but unintentionally between F2 and where F2 needs to go in order to tag R1. In fact, F2 runs into B2 in her attempt to get to R1. R1 makes it safely home, but would have probably been tagged out if B2 hadn't been in the way. I did not call interference because I felt that B2 did exactly what she should have done (get out of the way of possible play at home) and did not intentionally get in F2's way. I know that it is a HTBT play, but I would like some feedback. Can interference be called in that situation if B2 is not intentionally interfering with play?

[Edited by Stair-Climber on Jun 10th, 2005 at 12:33 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1