The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Throwing glove at a batted ball..... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/20772-throwing-glove-batted-ball.html)

dsimp8 Wed Jun 08, 2005 03:53pm

I saw this happen in an MLB game a few weeks ago and the BR was put on 3B. Isn't the rule in ASA basically the same? It doesn't matter if you hit the ball with the glove or not,or does it?

SRW Wed Jun 08, 2005 04:45pm

ASA 8-5-F
 
3 base award if a batted ball
2 base award if a thrown ball
1 base award if a pitched ball

...but only if the glove intentionally makes contact...

bluezebra Thu Jun 09, 2005 01:23am

Re: ASA 8-5-F
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SRW
3 base award if a batted ball
2 base award if a thrown ball
1 base award if a pitched ball

...but only if the glove intentionally makes contact...

If the glove is thrown, contact IS intentional.

Bob

Dakota Thu Jun 09, 2005 08:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by dsimp8
...in ASA ...It doesn't matter if you hit the ball with the glove or not,or does it?
Yes, it does. No contact, no violation. (ASA)

CecilOne Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:37am

Or any "detached equipment" like cap, batting glove, glasses, shoe, mask, etc.

Bluefoot Fri Jun 10, 2005 06:54am

And it's a four base award if the umpire judges that the batted ball would have gone over the fence on the fly, in fair territory.

SeattleMetroUmp Fri Jun 10, 2005 01:05pm

Question on this Very Play
 
Guys I had a play similar to this on Sunday during a semi-final 18u game. R1 on 2b and steals. Third basemen I thought threw her glove when the catcher threw the ball down. I called time and talked with my BU, but the BU didn't see the girl throw her glove and no coaches came out to say anything.

My question is the runner gets home, but does the batter get 2 bases as well. That is what I am reading correctly right?


Thanks,


Mike

CecilOne Fri Jun 10, 2005 01:52pm

Re: Question on this Very Play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SeattleMetroUmp
Guys I had a play similar to this on Sunday during a semi-final 18u game. R1 on 2b and steals. Third basemen I thought threw her glove when the catcher threw the ball down. I called time and talked with my BU, but the BU didn't see the girl throw her glove and no coaches came out to say anything.

My question is the runner gets home, but does the batter get 2 bases as well. That is what I am reading correctly right?


Thanks,


Mike

No, batter only get an award if a batted ball.

bkbjones Fri Jun 10, 2005 03:25pm

My apologies Mike
 
Sorry, had life !@#$ happening and forgot you had e-mailed me or called me or something...

batter would get two bases if the thrown ball is struck by detached equipment only if the batter becomes a batter-runner (hit, error, base on balls, catcher's obstruction). And...the ball is still live...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1