![]() |
PONY book rule says the batter is out for hitting the ball with the bat a second time in fair teritory and then in POE "If the bat is in the hands of the batter ..., and the batter's box, it is a foul ball". That reads like the same as a batted ball hitting the batter while still in the box is a foul ball even if the ball or batter is in fair territory. Is that right, even if inconsistent?
|
Some of the batters box is in fair territory. The batter gets hit with a fair batted ball while in the batters box it is a Dead Ball foul.
|
I guess I need to clarify my question.
With the bat in the batter's hand(s); is the batter out for "hitting the ball with the bat a second time in fair teritory" (rule) or is it a foul ball if the batter is still in the box (POE)? |
Perhaps Pony is being a little sloppy with the rule writing. ASA specifically lists the exception for the batter in the box under the hitting the ball a second time rule (ASA 8-6-K EXCEPTION 1)
The correct call is foul ball. Is this perhaps covered in the definitions section (foul ball) of the Pony rules? It is covered there, too, for ASA. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00am. |