The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2005, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
HS playoff game, ASA rules. R1 on 1B. As pitcher delivers, PU throws out left arm, but does not declare "Illegal pitch" until after ball is received, without swing. R1 does not attempt a steal. Two questions:

1. Should the PU verbalize "illegal pitch" right away? As a fairly new ump, all the FP I do is jr. high and JV, where we inform but don't call illegal pitches. I call it right away in SP, but they have time to hear it and react. But I can see where a PU that verbalizes as the ball is coming in could disrupt the batter in FP.

2. Should the umpires place R1 at 2B, or just allow it if she ambles down? The rules says "runners are entitled to advance one base without liability to be put out". In this case, R1 is still at 1B after the expected ten minute argument.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1