![]() |
Last night at a female fast pitch game (16U), the pitcher pitched a pitch which she called "chinese Change-up". She started on the rubber with both hands together; however she brought the ball behind her hip and instead of bringing her arm around in a nomal fast pitch rotation, she pitched the ball stright foward in a slow pitch method. The ball flowed to the plate with a slow pitch arce (about 5 feet) on it. The umpire called it lllegal pitch. Her team coach argue that it was legal; however the opposing team coach called it lllegal, also.
Has anyone heard of this pitch and is it legal according to ASA rules? |
almost sounded like a slingshot pitch to me if it wouldn't have had the arch..... I'm not an expert so I am just kinda voiceing my opinion off the top of my head.....the arch is what made it an illegal pitch?
[Edited by coachfanmom on May 17th, 2005 at 03:21 PM] |
There are no arch requirements in fastpitch. Try again.
|
so fastpitch CAN have an arch to the pitch??
|
"so fastpitch can have an arch?"
YES!! have you ever seen a 10u rec game, thats called Fast pitch too. :) |
yeah......so true!!! Didn't think about it that way...so what was it that made this pitch illegal then?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
hummmmmmmmmm guess I must have missed something too......
|
Quote:
I'm curious about the name of the pitch. Did the Chinese team use this in their last Olympic appearance? |
Legal pitch. First time you see it, you have to stop and think about it.
Not only is there no arc restrictions in FP, there is also nothing that automatically declares a pitch a ball just because it hits home plate. Combine these two into a pitching strategy where you can pitch the ball 20 feet up and have it come straight down and land on home plate, and technically it would be a strike. Played some unlimited arc slow pitch a long time ago...it is like trying to hit a squirrel running down a tree. |
interesting!!! Would love to find out the technique in doing that pitch.....that sounds like a wonderful change up!! lol
|
Quote:
the portion bold that I am questioning, is the fact that she starts with both hands together. |
"Not only is there no arc restrictions in FP, there is also nothing that automatically declares a pitch a ball just because it hits home plate."
In ASA fastpitch, 7.5.A, a pitch that touches home plate is a ball. Or am I reading that wrong and was taught wrong? [Edited by blue_ape on May 18th, 2005 at 01:15 AM] |
It's a ball provided the batter doesn't swing at it:-)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm. |