The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by gipper
B1 on first, B2 hits ball and deflects off pitcher's leg. A4 moves forward to field ground ball and is bumped by B1 which causes A4 to miss ball. I know we have probably had this situation here bfore but do we have interefence on this one?
You are applying football or something terminology to a softball situation. I had to reread your situation to understand what you were asking. Here it is in softball nomenclature
Quote:
R1 on first, B2 hits ball and deflects off pitcher's leg. R4 moves forward to field ground ball and is bumped by R1 which causes F4 to miss ball. I know we have probably had this situation here bfore but do we have interefence on this one?
Whose rules?

Speaking ASA, this is a deflected batted ball. The applicable rule is 8-7-J-5. For it to be interference, the act by R1 must be intentional, and F4 must have had an opportunity to make an out.

Fed rules do not address a deflected batted ball. Out in Fed.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1