![]() |
NCAA - R1 on 3rd - 2 outs I am 1st base ump.
BR hits the ball to F6, she fires to 1st but the BR on her last stride comes up about an inch or so short of the base and then is crossing the base when the ball arrives. I called the out. Should I have called safe and waited for an appeal? |
Quote:
If a runner passes 1B before the throw arrives, she considered to have touched the base unless an appeal play is made before she returns to 1B. Rule 7 Section 11. 2.e.2. |
.. looks like whiskers is correct
[Edited by wadeintothem on May 9th, 2005 at 09:36 PM] |
Rachel,
Chances are that you will have to really sell that as an out call - as all can see that the runner beat the ball. As Glen cited, the rule book supports the safe call - but that's section 1 not 11 I think. |
Quote:
Rachel, Rule 7 Section 1.2.e.2 page 67 NCAA book Thanks Steve. |
Fortunately for me the coach saw it too and did not argue. The fans however did not like it. Yes, I sold it big.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42am. |