![]() |
Bases loaded, 1 out, blooper hit over second base, uncathcable(to the mortal man). I, being the BU, move in, button-hook towards second, quickly because these are better teams, ready for the play.
Here we go, ball thrown back to first, not to second, no problem Im there and make the call out. A split second later I hear 'safe' and 'time.' I look at my partner, who I had not officiated with before, he trots over to me and says he has the throw-back call. I calmly say, third and home too? I ask him if he wants me to make the correct call or is he going to? He says go ahead, so I say safe. I didnt mention, as soon as I hear safe/time, I look towards third and BR was off the base, but returns gracifully. I didnt make any other comments; mainly because alot of the players on both teams were friends of his. What do ya do? Was I wrong? How do ya handle this going foreward? By doing this he is taking first from me, in this sitch, right? |
Discuss your common sitchs (this is one) in pregame. 99% of the time (and by the book), this is your call. I occasionally work with an extreme old-timer who prefers to take home and 1st (including the touch) on most bases-loaded situations where the ball is hit to the outfield, and BU gets 2nd and 3rd. There's some logic there too, since I started in C.
But this should have been discussed in pregame if this guy wanted 1B to be his on this play. |
rhsc <i>said</i>
<b>"Here we go, ball thrown back to first, not to second, no problem <u>Im there and make the call out.</u> A split second later I hear 'safe' and 'time.' I look at my partner, who I had not officiated with before, he trots over to me and says he has the throw-back call. I calmly say, third and home too? I ask him if he wants me to make the correct call or is he going to? He says go ahead, <u>so I say safe.</u></b> So, if after conferring with partner, and just because he stated "it was his call", did you change your call from <b>OUT</b> to <b>SAFE</b>. Did he have some information you missed? |
Speaking ASA.
This call and responsibility isn't even cause for discussion. It belongs to the BU all the time. And, no, you don't change it in the pre-game. ASA respects the fact there are times umpires must deviate from the norm, but insist that the umpires communicate with each other. Deviation from the prescribed mechanics happens during a play, not before the game starts. That's not a deviation, that's a pure change the mechanics. |
Irish - thats what I thought and after some other discussion with area asa umps, they agree, it was my call
whiskers - I dont think he saw anything I didnt, it was close. I saw out, he saw save. Yes I changed my call to save his face in front of his friends. Probably the wrong thing to do, but I can blame it on being new still. Anyway, I just felt a little awkward in how to handle this going foreward. Mc - dont think this was a case of old school, it is haw he was taught I gather. Wrong or right its not for me to be the teacher here. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm. |