The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I believe the issue is when does the batter become a batter-runner? Is it when the pitch is called ball 4, or hit, or dropped strike 3, or is it when they begin to run (as an acknowledgement that the time at bat has ended)? There are certain protections offered in the batters box that rules provide, and yes, even to a batter-runner. One example is a batted ball that hits the batter in the batters box, even if in fair territory. As a purist, except for the rule exception, that would/could/should be interference. The ball has been hit, but this is still a batter.

If you apply the same logic, it would appear that the batter doesn't become a batter-runner until he/she begins to run, or that MAY be one interpretation; if that is the case, then actions while still in the batters box are protected as a batter, and that interference requires intent.

The above is for the sake of discussion. I am not all that convinced it is or should be the rule, but that is the gist of the rulings and interpretations heard to this point.

[Edited by AtlUmpSteve on Apr 30th, 2005 at 05:47 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1