The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interference??? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19731-interference.html)

slowballbaker Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:21pm

Had this one today...Let's see what the umpires think...

A runnerR1 at 3rd base, one out...
Batter B1 hits a pop fly towards 3rd base.....
This is where it gets tricky..I think...

3rd baseman in playing about 5 to 10 feet in front of the bag. The R1 gets her lead down the line and even with the 3rd baseman on the pitch, the ball is then pop up towards 3rd base. 3rd baseman (F1) breaks in(misjudges it) then break back towards 3rd for the ball....But while doing so R1 retreats back to the bag. F1 and R1 are making contact with each other(pretty good contact) on top of 3rd base...
The ball landed just a foot from 3rd base but foul...Since there was contact the F1 was unable to catch the ball...
Is this interference on the R1?
Is R1 allow to return to the bag?
If R1 gets out of the way of F1 then its an easy double play because R1 would be unable to return to the bag and F1 will catch the ball while standing on top off 3rd base....
You make the call...Thanks

NTexUmp Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:03pm

This is one of those HTBT sitch. Based upon your post I assume the BR on the base and not intentionally holding the Fielder or blocking the path to the ball. The runner has a right to occupy the base. So I would not call interference.

Rachel Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:03pm

HTBT but from what you describe I would have interference. The runner moved into the fielder fielding the ball (F5). Was there contact off of the base?

BHBlue Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:08pm

Any hinderance by a runner in contact with a legally occupied base would have to be judged intentional to be called interference.

NTexUmp Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:14pm

Like BHBLUE stated if the contact occured while the runner was on the base? Then no INF.

whiskers_ump Fri Apr 15, 2005 07:29am

Unless contact occured prior to runner being on base,
then I cannot see interference. However, this one is
definiately a HBTB play.

slowballbaker Fri Apr 15, 2005 08:55am

Contact was made as both players were reaching the base..
The umpires called ruled...Foul ball no interference...

What is HTBT play ????? Thanks

wadeintothem Fri Apr 15, 2005 09:15am

The HTBT part is you arent being clear, even with your clarification above if there was contact off the base and/or if on the base, the possibility of intent.

Any contact whatsoever while the runner was off the base is INT. An ump can call INT while on the base but that is a judgement call.

Eitherway, the play as you describe is obviously a close play/call - HTBT - not necessarily a bad call, even if you adjust it further off the bag to obtain an unanimous INT on this board.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Apr 15, 2005 09:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Unless contact occured prior to runner being on base,
then I cannot see interference. However, this one is
definiately a HBTB play.

HBTB???

MA Softball Ump Fri Apr 15, 2005 09:36am

HTBT &
 
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
However, this one is definiately a HBTB play.
HBTB??? [/i]

HTBT = Had To Be There!
HBTB = (?) How 'Bout Third Base???

booker227 Fri Apr 15, 2005 09:45am

You don't have anything if the contact took place on the bag. The runner has position of the bag, and cannot be forced off the bag.

whiskers_ump Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Unless contact occured prior to runner being on base,
then I cannot see interference. However, this one is
definiately a HBTB play.

HBTB???

Have Been There Before

Andy Fri Apr 15, 2005 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Unless contact occured prior to runner being on base,
then I cannot see interference. However, this one is
definiately a HBTB play.

HBTB???

Have Been There Before

Nice recovery, Glen!!!! :)

whiskers_ump Fri Apr 15, 2005 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Unless contact occured prior to runner being on base,
then I cannot see interference. However, this one is
definiately a HBTB play.

HBTB???

Have Been There Before

Nice recovery, Glen!!!! :)

Yeppers, cause we all know it was a typo. Old geezers
just can't get the right things working....LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1