![]() |
|
|
|||
Open Question ??? While umpiring a 10 & under Tournament this weekend I called a illegal pitch and while walking to the pitching circle to explain to the pitcher what I called the defensive head coach also walked out to hear. Nothing unexpected. But at the same time the offensive coach headed out, wanting to hear. This was new to me, I had never had a offensive coach come out. I asked him to please return to the side line and that I would come over to speak to him after I had spoken to the pitcher and her coach. He wasn't real pleased with that request. After speaking to the pitcher / coach I then went to the offensive coach and gave a quick explination of what I called. Anyone have any thoughts on my actions or what I might have done. Perhaps point me to a ruling concerning offensive coach coming out onto the feild during this type of time-out?
|
|
|||
I see nothing wrong with the offensive coach listening in. In fact, I think it's a good idea to invite him/her in this type of situation. Coaches are paranoid, and if you speak to one without the other present, they think you're doing something underhanded. Also, by including both coaches, they both get exactly the same info, and you don't have to repeat yourself. Loosen up.
Bob |
|
|||
While I don't do anything with this age group, I think it's a terrific idea to have both coaches present for your explanation - 'cuz it's really teaching. And I think teaching and learning are a primary purpose for the younger ages.
__________________
Steve M |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|