The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Couple of FastPitch softball questions if I may (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19283-couple-fastpitch-softball-questions-if-i-may.html)

Bandit Wed Mar 23, 2005 02:39pm

ASA, Intent is still required
 
Rule 7, Section 6 "The Batter Is Out.....Letter "K"...EXCEPTION #2 : If the batter drops the bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territoy, and, in the umpires judgement, there was no intention to interfere the batter is not out and the ball is live and in play.

scottk_61 Wed Mar 23, 2005 02:50pm

Re: ASA, Intent is still required
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Bandit
Rule 7, Section 6 "The Batter Is Out.....Letter "K"...EXCEPTION #2 : If the batter drops the bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territoy, and, in the umpires judgement, there was no intention to interfere the batter is not out and the ball is live and in play.
Hmm, I need to find out where we got that from.

MarkPSkins Thu Mar 24, 2005 03:45pm

Okay, let me get this straight:

In ASA if the batter drops the bat onto a rolling ball, in other words, if the bat hits the ball, knocking it out of bounds away from F2 who is close to picking up the ball, then it is interference.

However, if the ball rolls into the dropped bat, and, in the umpire's judgement the batter did not intend to do it, and the ball gets knocked out of bounds, since it is Live and "play-on" it would be ruled foul.

In NHFS, if the batter, in the umpire's opinion, unintentionally drops the bat onto a rolling fair ball and knocks it out of bounds away from F2 who is close to scooping it up, it would be right to rule it a foul ball?

Dakota Thu Mar 24, 2005 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MarkPSkins
Okay, let me get this straight:

In ASA if the batter drops the bat onto a rolling ball, in other words, if the bat hits the ball, knocking it out of bounds away from F2 who is close to picking up the ball, then it is interference.

However, if the ball rolls into the dropped bat, and, in the umpire's judgement the batter did not intend to do it, and the ball gets knocked out of bounds, since it is Live and "play-on" it would be ruled foul.

In NHFS, if the batter, in the umpire's opinion, unintentionally drops the bat onto a rolling fair ball and knocks it out of bounds away from F2 who is close to scooping it up, it would be right to rule it a foul ball?

Just to be clear...

In softball, there is no such place as "out of bounds". There is fair territory, foul territory, and dead ball territory (sometimes called "out of play"). The field of play = fair territory + foul territory.

Speaking ASA:

1) If the batter drops the bat and the bat contacts a fair ball a second time in fair territory, the batter is out. (ASA 7-6-K)

2) If the batter drops the bat and the fair ball contacts the bat a second time in fair territory, and there was no intent to interfere (in the umpire's judgment), the ball is live, play on. (ASA 7-6-K-EXCEPTION-2)

3) If the batter drops the bat and one contacts the other in foul territory, it is a foul ball. (ASA 1-FOUL BALL-C)

Speaking NFHS,

1) If the batter intentionally (in the umpire's judgment)drops the bat so that the bat contacts the ball a second time in fair territory, the batter is out. (NFHS 7-4-K)

2) If the batter intentionally (in the umpire's judgment)drops the bat so that the bat contacts the ball a second time in foul territory and (in the umpire's judgment) the ball has a chance to become fair, the batter is out. (NFHS 7-4-K NOTE)

3) If the batter drops the bat and the ball contacts the bat a second time in fair territory, and there was no intent to interfere (in the umpire's judgment), the ball is live, play on. (NFHS Case Play 7.4.1-F-b)

4) If the batter drops the bat and one contacts the other in foul territory either without intent or where the ball does not have a chance to become fair, it is a foul ball. (NFHS 7-4-K NOTE & NFHS 2-25-1-d)

[Edited by Dakota on Mar 24th, 2005 at 04:34 PM]

MarkPSkins Thu Mar 24, 2005 04:37pm

Sorry, I didn't mean to confuse out of bounds and foul territory.

You covered everything but this scenario in NFHS:

If the batter drops the bat, unintentionally in the umpires judgement, and the bat contacts a fair ball a second time in fair territory, knocking the fair ball into foul territory with no chance for it to become fair again what is the proper ruling?

Then add the scenario that F2 had a chance to pick up the ball and throw her out.

MarkPSkins Thu Mar 24, 2005 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota

Speaking NFHS,

3) If the batter drops the bat and the ball contacts the bat a second time in fair territory, and there was no intent to interfere (in the umpire's judgment), the ball is live, play on. (NFHS Case Play 7.4.1-F-b)

[/B]
If the ball is knocked into foul territory. Is it foul? 0r because the ball was contacted a second time in fair territory does is it fair and it is necessary for f2 to chase it down?

Dakota Thu Mar 24, 2005 04:50pm

Since there was no intent, and since the ball first made contact with a player's equipment over fair territory, it is a fair ball - live, play on. (NFHS 2-20-1-d)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1