The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Does the walk in run always score? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19185-does-walk-run-always-score.html)

WestMichBlue Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:22am

Bases loaded, tie score, bottom of 7th, two outs. Batter is walked.

The rulebooks say that a run counts if it is scored before the 3rd out (with the obvious exceptions).

The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.

The question is: "can something happen that becomes the third out prior to R1 reaching home and thus nulify the winning run?"

Would it make a difference if this happened in the 3rd inning? Suppose R2 runs past 3rd base and is picked off by F2 before R1 touched home? Does the run count - and the inning end.

Rule reference or interpretation, please.

WMB

mcrowder Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:29am

There's a reason the books says the run must be scored before the 3rd out. The sitch you describe is exactly what comes to mind that might not score the run.

Others mostly include a runner NOT touching his awarded base, or being DQ'd (say the batter that drew the walk had BOO).

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Bases loaded, tie score, bottom of 7th, two outs. Batter is walked.

The rulebooks say that a run counts if it is scored before the 3rd out (with the obvious exceptions).

The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.

Try ASA:

8.1.C, 8.7.G and 5.5.B

jxt127 Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:45am

In baseball as long as R3 touches home and the BR touches 1st base the run would score even if another runner is put out (e.g. overrunning his base and being tagged out) before R3 touches home (J/R).

In the absence of a different official ruling or case play I'd score the run.

Dakota Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.
That may be a common assumption, and one that is true 99% of the time, but it is not absolutely true.

Runners who are awarded bases must still run the bases legally (e.g. discussion on the NFHS board regarding a running lane violation in this same situation) and in the case of a BOB, the ball remains live (fastpitch).

ASA Rule 5-3-A (Regulation Game) says, in part,
Quote:

A full seven innings need not be played if the team second at bat scores more runs in six and one-half innings and/or before the third out in the last of the seventh inning, or the run ahead rule is applied.
ASA Rule 5-5-B and C gives various situations in which the run will NOT score, including (5-5-B-2)
Quote:

A runner being put out by tag or live ball appeal play prior to the lead runner touching home plate
So, in your scenario of R2 rounding 3rd and being tagged out before R1 touches home, that is out #3 before the lead runner touches home, so no run scores.

rhsc Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:12pm

In the original scenerio, how lenient would you be about high 5s down the base-line before the run scores?

WestMichBlue Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:28pm

"Runners who are awarded bases must still run the bases legally"

That is a given, Dakota. My original statement is that all runners touch the next base.

The question applies when all runners advance to the next base at different speeds. If it is the 7th inning, they simply touch and base and leave (to join the celebration). If R1 is in the midst of the celebration and yet a couple feet from home - and if another runner is tagged off the base - do you not allow the run?

WMB

Dakota Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
If R1 is in the midst of the celebration and yet a couple feet from home - and if another runner is tagged off the base - do you not allow the run?
Never had it happen, but, no, the rules don't support it. I thought I answered that.

The comment about running legally was just to dispense with that issue; the rest of the post actually was the answer to your question.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jxt127
In baseball as long as R3 touches home and the BR touches 1st base the run would score even if another runner is put out (e.g. overrunning his base and being tagged out) before R3 touches home (J/R).

In the absence of a different official ruling or case play I'd score the run.

We are talking softball here. Obviously a different game with different rules.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rhsc
In the original scenerio, how lenient would you be about high 5s down the base-line before the run scores?
Speaking ASA.

There is no rule forbiding it.


greymule Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:00pm

<b>In baseball as long as R3 touches home and the BR touches 1st base the run would score even if another runner is put out (e.g. overrunning his base and being tagged out) before R3 touches home (J/R).</b>

True, but be careful. There's a difference in OBR depending on whether the third out is made by a runner who is <i>put out</i> (run scores) or <i>declared out,</i> such as for passing a runner (run does not score). (I have no idea how Fed rules.)

See baseball board Feb 27 thread entitled "Dead ball passing runners, runs scoring."

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
"Runners who are awarded bases must still run the bases legally"

That is a given, Dakota. My original statement is that all runners touch the next base.

The question applies when all runners advance to the next base at different speeds. If it is the 7th inning, they simply touch and base and leave (to join the celebration). If R1 is in the midst of the celebration and yet a couple feet from home - and if another runner is tagged off the base - do you not allow the run?

WMB

Now you are going to have to define the game you are playing.


MA Softball Ump Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:19pm

BOB - BL
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Bases loaded, tie score, bottom of 7th, two outs. Batter is walked.

The rulebooks say that a run counts if it is scored before the 3rd out (with the obvious exceptions).

The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.... WMB

WMB -

Try Rule 8-5-A. [page 108] None of the runners are liable to be put out absent misconduct. All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."

Therefore it would only be by USC or some such that would negate the run.

TJ

rhsc Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by rhsc
In the original scenerio, how lenient would you be about high 5s down the base-line before the run scores?
Speaking ASA.

There is no rule forbiding it.


Seems like I remember something about assistance(like a base coach). Thats why I was asking about lenience. We discussed it at our meeting, but it was left to dicretion.

Dakota Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:31pm

Re: BOB - BL
 
Quote:

Originally posted by MA Softball Ump
Try Rule 8-5-A. [page 108] None of the runners are liable to be put out absent misconduct. All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."

Therefore it would only be by USC or some such that would negate the run.

But, no runner is being put out while advancing to the awarded base. The Q is about scoring the run if another runner is put out. Note this in the rule you cite,
Quote:

The ball remains in play ... Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play
The ball is in play. R2 advances farther. R2 is at risk. R2 is tagged out for the third out. R1 has not yet crossed home.

Does the run score anyway?

WestMichBlue Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:31pm

Mike: "Now you are going to have to define the game you are playing"

ASA or NFHS FP Softball.

MA SB UMP: "All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."

Only to the base they were forced to by a walked batter. In my situation runners reach that base - and then go past the base - and are put out before the first runner touches home.

The question: "Is an awarded run scored instantly? Or can it be negated by rules that normally apply to runners that must earn their way home?"

WMB

mcrowder Fri Mar 18, 2005 01:38pm

Re: Re: BOB - BL
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
The ball is in play. R2 advances farther. R2 is at risk. R2 is tagged out for the third out. R1 has not yet crossed home.

Does the run score anyway? [/B]
Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
The question: "Is an awarded run scored instantly? Or can it be negated by rules that normally apply to runners that must earn their way home?"[/B]
Not sure how many times this has to be answered. No, the run does not score.

Dakota Fri Mar 18, 2005 02:10pm

Re: Re: Re: BOB - BL
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Not sure how many times this has to be answered.
Apparently as many times as it keeps being asked. My Q that you quote was not because I was unsure; it was intended as a rhetorical back to MA Softball Ump who cited a rule & said that, yes, the run would score (at least that is what I understood him to be saying). Note my first answer in this thread.

mcrowder Fri Mar 18, 2005 03:04pm

Fair enough.

:)

Ranger23 Fri Mar 18, 2005 05:20pm

Lets reach a little. Take the bases loaded situation and the batter walks. Say the runners are off with the pitch and it is ball four. R1 at third did not run, R2 did and over runs 3rd and is tagged out. Is R1 in jeopardy to be put out now that the force is removed by R2 being tagged out? Hmmm?

whiskers_ump Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ranger23
Lets reach a little. Take the bases loaded situation and the batter walks. Say the runners are off with the pitch and it is ball four. R1 at third did not run, R2 did and over runs 3rd and is tagged out. Is R1 in jeopardy to be put out now that the force is removed by R2 being tagged out? Hmmm?
23,

Not if you are using the originally posted situation. There were already
two outs. :)

Ranger23 Sat Mar 19, 2005 04:47am

I'm just adding a wrinkle to the situation by saying there is only one out, is the runner from third in jeopardy to be put out?

I had a hard time finding these answers in a case book and had to go back to one from the early 90's to reference any situation and the answer might surprise some of you out there.

rhsc Sat Mar 19, 2005 05:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ranger23
I'm just adding a wrinkle to the situation by saying there is only one out, is the runner from third in jeopardy to be put out?

I had a hard time finding these answers in a case book and had to go back to one from the early 90's to reference any situation and the answer might surprise some of you out there.

No,not from the original scenerio.
Why would it matter how many outs there are? That would only matter as to whether the game is over.
Referencing the 90's, you got way too much time on your hands. Dont leae us hangin though, tell us what it says.


WestMichBlue Sat Mar 19, 2005 08:42am

"Why would it matter how many outs there are? "

Actually it is a good question. If the force is off, is R1 still entitled to free passage home? Or can R1 be tagged out walking to home plate?

WMB

bethsdad Sat Mar 19, 2005 02:24pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by WestMichBlue
[B]Mike: "Now you are going to have to define the game you are playing"

ASA or NFHS FP Softball.

MA SB UMP: "All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."
It seems to me the most important part of that rule here would be "Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance at their own risk". Once they pass the base they can be put out.

bethsdad Sat Mar 19, 2005 02:27pm

Sorry .... I kinda messed up the quote. I think you can figure it out. Brian

Ranger23 Sun Mar 20, 2005 05:32pm

Answer is,

In the original scenerio, according to the only case book which references the situation, the run would still count. It is from the 92 baseball case book, when cross referencing the wording in the rule books the wording reads basicaly the same. The key word is ENTITLED, that means guaranteed regardless of what happens. AT the time of the pitch sets the stage and at the time of the pitch bases were loaded so every one is entitled to the next base. The ball does remain live and the 3rd out was made but not until after the pitch had occured. If the runner fails to touch home you may however get a fourth out on appeal.

The second scenerio, no the runner is not liable to be put out because at the time of the pitch the bases were loaded and with ball 4 came the entitlement to home.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1