The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2005, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Reminds me of a play that happened a few years ago to another ump in our association.

In SP, with a 3-1 count, the batter could see that the pitch would be short, so he dropped the bat and started toward 1B. The bat was lying motionless across the plate, and the pitch hit the bat with the batter already several steps toward 1B.

I don't know how the ump called it, but whatever the call was, one team protested, so somebody sent an inquiry to ASA. Unfortunately, I don't remember how ASA responded. I guess, according to 7-6-D, the batter should be out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1