The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Play 8.2-11 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19035-play-8-2-11-a.html)

rwest Thu Mar 10, 2005 07:47am

Play 8.2-11

Two outs, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B, the batter receives ball four and goes toward the dugout. All runners advance and R1 touches home plate prior to batter-runner entering dead area.

Ruling: (SP without stealing) On ball four, the ball is dead. No penalty for entering the dead ball area,all runners advance and the run scores unless a proper appeal is made at 1B.

I did not include the FP/SP with stealing ruling because I understand that one. What I don't understand is what appeal are they talking about at 1B? Also, if this is not the end of the game, what do you do? Do you instruct the batter-runner to get on 1B? Can he go to 1B after entering the dead ball area?

Dakota Thu Mar 10, 2005 09:17am

The key to the ruling is the first sentence,
Quote:

On ball four, the ball is dead.
This means (as they say in the ruling) the BR is not out for merely entering DBT. However, the BR is still obligated to touch 1B. The appeal is a dead ball appeal of a missed base.
Quote:

Can he go to 1B after entering the dead ball area?
Yes. Remember, the ball is dead - "No penalty" means what it says. Same ruling, BTW, in FP with a HBP.
Quote:

Also, if this is not the end of the game, what do you do?
That's an interesting question. I would repeat, "That was ball four" loudly enough for coaches, etc., to hear.

rwest Thu Mar 10, 2005 09:58am

How much time?
 
So how much time do you give the offense to complete their base running responsibilities before you give the defense the opportunity for a dead ball appeal at 1B?

Rattlehead Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:28pm

Ok... I'm a Fast pitch rookie. So Please be Gentle

This and a few other subjects are killing me.

In Fast Pitch on Ball 4 the ball is dead? 8-1-c1 (The Ball is in Play unless blocked).

The way I read this is if bases are loaded and the batter runner on a Ball 4 goes into the dugout on the live ball isn't that an out?

Dakota Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:34pm

In fast pitch, the ball is live after ball four unless something else happened to "kill" it (such as a blocked ball, pitched ball going out of play, etc.)

Therefore, in the play cited above, the ruling for fast pitch is the BR is out as soon as she enters dead ball territory (8-2-D), and since this was the third out, made on the BR prior to reaching 1st base, the run does not score (5-5-B-1). This is not an appeal play in FP.

[Edited by Dakota on Mar 10th, 2005 at 12:37 PM]

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rattlehead
Ok... I'm a Fast pitch rookie. So Please be Gentle

This and a few other subjects are killing me.

In Fast Pitch on Ball 4 the ball is dead? 8-1-c1 (The Ball is in Play unless blocked).

The way I read this is if bases are loaded and the batter runner on a Ball 4 goes into the dugout on the live ball isn't that an out?

Dear Rook,

This is referred to as hi-jacking a thread. Please try to stay with the scenario. What happens is confusion sets in when someone is responding to your question and someone thinks they are responding to the original scenario.

When you have a question similar to one being discussed by of another discipline of the game, it would be beneficial to all if you started another thread. We will all be glad to respond as best as possible.

Thanks,



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1