The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
I need additional help on a call today. A batter hits a ball to the firstbaseman who drops the ball. The fielder picks up the ball in hand and tags the base with the glove just before the runner gets to first. The batter is ruled out. After the game a parent and I were talking about the call. After searching through the rulebook I cite, the definition of a legal tag on a base: "Once the defensive has control of the ball in the hand(s) or glove, the base may be touched with any part of the body to be a legal touch. (e.g. the defensive player could touch the base with a foot, with a hand, sit on the base, etc.)" A parent then asked where it stated that the glove was part of the body and I could find no such place. The rule book always states the glove or hand(s). Was this the correct call? If so, what other passages would apply?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1