The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA test - #90 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/18668-asa-test-90-a.html)

pollywolly60 Mon Feb 21, 2005 08:26am

Question reads - R1 on 1B, B1 pops up, R1 is off the base, F3 catches the ball in foul territory and touches the orange base before R1 returns to tag up.

I've read through rule 8 - 2 - M, and know the runner must use white portion to tag up, but can't find any ruling on defense. MY common sense tells me if offensive runner is limited to white bag, then defense would be limited to white bag also, and R1 is safe.

I've also been taught at clinics that the colored portion of the double base "disappears" once the batter-runner becomes a runner.

Have not been able to find a caseplay on this question.

What do you say?

pollywolly60 Mon Feb 21, 2005 08:31am

By the way, the options for answers were:
A) R1 is out, F3 may use orange base.
B) R1 is safe, F3 must use white base
C) R1 is safe, the defense must appeal the play
D) R1 is out, they must use the orange bag for plays at 1B.

scottk_61 Mon Feb 21, 2005 09:57am

The answer is B

Dakota Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by pollywolly60
I've also been taught at clinics that the colored portion of the double base "disappears" once the batter-runner becomes a runner.
This is correct. Show me any rule - any one at all - where the orange base applies to a runner. It ONLY applies to a BR. It doesn't even apply to a BR who has overrun 1st and is returning. It only exists while the BR is between home and 1st.

It's a classic trick question - trying to divert your attention to the orange base rule when it does not even apply.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 21, 2005 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by pollywolly60
I've also been taught at clinics that the colored portion of the double base "disappears" once the batter-runner becomes a runner.
This is correct. Show me any rule - any one at all - where the orange base applies to a runner. It ONLY applies to a BR. It doesn't even apply to a BR who has overrun 1st and is returning. It only exists while the BR is between home and 1st.

It's a classic trick question - trying to divert your attention to the orange base rule when it does not even apply.

I disagree, nothing tricky about it. The question forces the umpire to know that the defense cannot use the colored bag in lieu of the white base when playing on a runner.


Dakota Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I disagree, nothing tricky about it.
I knew you'd say that! ;)

I didn't mean trick as in "devious" or "deceitful" - rather just trick as in "decoy" or "trap".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1