The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Another You Make The Call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/18449-another-you-make-call.html)

whiskers_ump Sun Feb 13, 2005 04:07pm

NFHS 2005 Rules.

R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B. 1 out. F5 pulled in for possible bunt.
Batter slaps a sharp ground ball hitting F5's glove. R1 &
R2 off (legally) with the pitch. R1 attempts to jump the
deflected ball, it hits her in the heel causing it to veer
slightly towards 2B. F6 has followed R1 slightly. When
the ball is touched by R1, F6's position is beyond the diverted path of the ball.

Make the Call.

SWFLguy Sun Feb 13, 2005 06:50pm

if a fielder had a chance to field the ball ??
ball is dead-- interference--
R1 is out and put Batter -runner on 1st
and R2 on 2nd. 2 out.

that's my call

WestMichBlue Sun Feb 13, 2005 08:28pm

Live ball - play on. (8.8.6)

WMB

Gmoore Sun Feb 13, 2005 08:34pm

"F6's position is beyond the diverted path of the ball."

agreed play on


WestMichBlue Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:05am

Doesn't matter where a second fielder is located. Once a ball touches a fielder interference cannot be called if the ball is touched by a runner.

WMB

scottk_61 Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Doesn't matter where a second fielder is located. Once a ball touches a fielder interference cannot be called if the ball is touched by a runner.

WMB

Under Fed rules, Interference can be called in this sitch.
I don't agree with it, but it is there.

Antonella Mon Feb 14, 2005 05:02am

Dead ball. Interference.
Runner is out. B1 is awarded 1st base. R2 forced to 2nd base. Two outs.
It matters WHERE F6 is located.
As long as an infielder has the possibility to play we should rule interference.

All this according to the only Rulebook I know (it is a translation of I.S.F. Rulebook)

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 14, 2005 07:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Antonella
Dead ball. Interference.
Runner is out. B1 is awarded 1st base. R2 forced to 2nd base. Two outs.
It matters WHERE F6 is located.
As long as an infielder has the possibility to play we should rule interference.

All this according to the only Rulebook I know (it is a translation of I.S.F. Rulebook)

Antonella,

You need to read on. ISF (2002-2005, page 110) Rule 8.10.f:

THE RUNNER IS NOT OUT.

f. When he is hit with a fair-batted ball after it touches, or is touched by, any fielder including the pitcher, an he could not avoid contact with the ball.


WestMichBlue Mon Feb 14, 2005 07:21am

"Under Fed rules, Interference can be called in this sitch."

NO - and I quoted the rule earlier. If you read 8.8.6 you see almost the identical words Mike quoted for ISF.

WMB

Nor are they out in ASA per 8.8.f

[Edited by WestMichBlue on Feb 14th, 2005 at 07:24 AM]

Antonella Mon Feb 14, 2005 07:41am

Now I am quite confused....
In posting my previous reply I referred tu Rule 8 Sec. 10-e

I'm not so good at translation but in the end it reads something like 'unless, in the umpire judgment, no other player had the possibility to make an out'.

Ready to accept any denial about my call!

A.

WestMichBlue Mon Feb 14, 2005 08:13am

Antonella -

I suspect you are looking at the rule that calls interference when a runner is hit by a fair batted ball before it passes a fielder, OR if there is another fielder that (in the umpire's opinion) had a chance to make a play.

This discussion is about out a ball that is touched by a fielder and then hits the runner. For this rule, there is no discussion about another fielder in position to make a play. Simply live ball, play on.

WMB

Antonella Mon Feb 14, 2005 08:22am

Wrong call, simply
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Simply live ball, play on.

WMB

I think I missed the most important fact about this question.

Live ball and play on also to me, now....

Thanks.

A.

scottk_61 Mon Feb 14, 2005 09:24am

You are right
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
"Under Fed rules, Interference can be called in this sitch."

NO - and I quoted the rule earlier. If you read 8.8.6 you see almost the identical words Mike quoted for ISF.

WMB

Nor are they out in ASA per 8.8.f

[Edited by WestMichBlue on Feb 14th, 2005 at 07:24 AM]

I didn't read the sitch carefully.
You are right, of course you knew that but I thought I should bow to your superior field presence.

whiskers_ump Mon Feb 14, 2005 10:09am

This play took place in an umpire training game. CAll made
on the field was "Dead Ball", runner out, and send R2 back
to 1B. We always put two "newbies" and a vet in these games
for training purposes. We also had the teams do a couple of
obstructions. Pickoff and play at the plate. Umpires on the
field were not aware that the plays were coming and missed both
of them. Also had a runner leave before a fly ball was touched
by the fielder. Base umpire called the runner out without an appeal.
Worse confusion was on foul ball/foul tip. Every ball tipped and
caught was called an out.

Might be a long season.




IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 14, 2005 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump

Worse confusion was on foul ball/foul tip. Every ball tipped and
caught was called an out.

Hey, and your problem with that is????? Give them credit. That means they paid attention at the HS clinic! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1