The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2005, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
From the ASA test:

44. Which of the following is a force out:

A) Runner retreats to a base after a caught fly ball and the thrown ball beats the runner to the bag.

B) The batter-runner and a runner are both standing on 1B and the fielder tags the batter-runner.

C) The fielder tags 1B with their glove while holding the ball in the other hand before the batter-runner reaches 1B.

D) None of the above.

Well, what's the answer?

[Edited by greymule on Feb 4th, 2005 at 05:58 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2005, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 175
Cool My answer

A is an appeal play.

B. Nobody is out...yet.

C. is the answer.

Well?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2005, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
ASA also gives C as the answer.

I thought it might be a trick question. See definition of "force play."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2005, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Throw out the tests, they are invalid.

New tests will be provided.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 09:06am
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
C is the answer.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Throw out the tests, they are invalid.

There do appear to be problems. Four questions are identical or almost identical to four others (25/52, 2/53, 26/66, 38/100).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
Like Mike said, throw out the test.
Oklahoma City said the last 50 questions of the test are definately messed up.
__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Cool D is the correct answer

Hadnt taken the test yet and dont know what the correct answer by the key is BUT the correct answer by the defination is D. Only a runner that is forced to run because the batter becomes a batter-runner is considered a FORCE by rule.


JMO

Don
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Re: D is the correct answer

Quote:
Originally posted by oppool
Hadnt taken the test yet and dont know what the correct answer by the key is BUT the correct answer by the defination is D. Only a runner that is forced to run because the batter becomes a batter-runner is considered a FORCE by rule.


JMO

Don
Don,

C is the correct answer. This isn't a NFHS test. Don't think in highly specific terms. If a runner or BR may be put out while in route to a base by tagging the base instead of the runner, consider it a force out. After all, like a "forced" runner, the BR is forced to advance to 1B if they wish to be safe. (Exception: Where players are not required to advance on a HR or four-base aware).

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I disagree. Especially considering in how many places the tests try to trick you with wordsmithing. As many have stated (you, yourself, included, Mike) - a play at first on the BR is NOT a force - it's just an out.

In C - the BR is definitely OUT ... but also definitely not a FORCE out.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Speaking ASA, this is not a trick question hinging on the definition of Force Out. ASA is not OBR.

ASA 8-7-G
Quote:
...If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, this is a force out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I stand corrected. Is it my fuzzy memory misquoting Mike (god of ASA) as calling a play on the BR at first NOT a force out?

Must be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I stand corrected. Is it my fuzzy memory misquoting Mike (god of ASA) as calling a play on the BR at first NOT a force out?

Must be.
I disagree. I don't believe ASA even comes close to playing the word games NFHS has in the past.

Let me say this. The past weekend at the UIC clinic, more than once the term "force" was used by a member of the NUS for putting out the BR at 1B.

You must think of it as a generic term. We all know what it is and should handle it as such. Y'all make things difficult on yourself.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Y'all make things difficult on yourself.
Even those who insist on making it difficult on themselves - I NEVER do that! - can find it in black and white in rule 8-7-G (as posted above).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 07, 2005, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Throw out the tests, they are invalid.

New tests will be provided.
Any idea on when the new test will be provided?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1