![]() |
I think most of us would agree that the following fastpitch situation is an illegal pitch. I've marked two points in the situation. Please see my notes below.
<i>Pitcher steps onto the pitching plate with her hands together. <b>(A)</b> The pitcher takes the sign from the catcher while here hands are together and then separates her hands <b>(B)</b> and delivers the ball.</i> My organization thinks that at point "A" the pitch is illegal and at this point the umpire should verbalize the illegal pitch. My opinion is that it is not a pitch until point "B" and thus cannot be an illegal pitch until that point. I think that point "B" is when you would verbalize it. For example, until point "B" the pitcher could step back off the pitching plate. Thoughts on this? [Edited by SC Ump on Jan 29th, 2005 at 03:00 PM] |
'A' is the first illegal act & the illegal pitch should be called at that time ...
|
It's not always necessary to deliver a pitch for it to be deemed illegal. Example: F1 gets a big handfull of dirt and grinds it into the ball. No need to wait for a delivery, the illegal act has already been performed.
In your example -- <I>Pitcher steps onto the pitching plate with her hands together</I> -- the question is <U>When did the illegal act occur?</U> Make your call at that time. Comment: This seems like more of a DON'T DO THAT for the first offense and illegal pitch thereafter. George in NC |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52am. |