The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2001, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
I can give you a Fed cite.

See Rule 9-1 "A runner scores one run each time she legally advances to and touches first, second and third and then home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.

Exceptions: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: .....(clauses a. to f.)

Note: If a fielder illegally obstructs a runner and is responsible for failure of that runner to reach home plate, the umpire has authority to award home base to such runner."

In your sitch, if your judgement is that the runner could have crossed home before the third out if she hadn't been obstructed, you would award her the base and count the run.

The obstruction could have occured anywhere between 1st base and home, not just after 3rd, if you judge that the reason she failed to score before the third out was a result of the obstruction.

Roger Greene,
Member UT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1