The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Angry

Here's one that did happen to me last year in a SPA tourny playing under ASA rules.

B1 hits a hard grounder to F3 who bobbles the ball but picks up in time to make the play at 1st but the trouble happens because F3 steps across the double base with at least 95% of his foot making contact with the orange side only his back heel catchs the white side of the bag which the runner hold up to avoid making contact with F3. I call the runner out explain to the coach that part of his heel did catch the bag on the white side he tries to argue obstruction that is why they play the two sided bag at 1st after some discussion I say sorry coach B1 is out let's play ball. No where in the rule book do I see where it says if any % or all of the fielder or BR foot must touch there side of the double base bag. I agree with many I see that say the double base bag is not worth the trouble. Gave me your thought guys...

THANKS
DON
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1