The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Tiebreaker in short lineup (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/16966-tiebreaker-short-lineup.html)

Leecedar Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:54pm

Situation:

Home team has 9 players. Bottom of 8th. Due to ejection or illness B9 for home team is not playing. B9's turn came up with 2 out in bottom of 7th, causing 3rd out. Using tiebreaker procedure, last batter out is supposed to assume 2nd base with no out.

Do we start the bottom of the inning with B8 on second and no out, or bases empty and one out?

Lee

IRISHMAFIA Sun Dec 12, 2004 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Leecedar
Situation:

Home team has 9 players. Bottom of 8th. Due to ejection or illness B9 for home team is not playing. B9's turn came up with 2 out in bottom of 7th, causing 3rd out. Using tiebreaker procedure, last batter out is supposed to assume 2nd base with no out.

Do we start the bottom of the inning with B8 on second and no out, or bases empty and one out?

Lee

Speaking ASA assuming no available substitutes or reentry for B9.

If this is a SP game, it is over as soon as B9 leaves the game.

If this is a FP game, and the player is ejected, the game is over with the ejection.

If a FP game with anything other than an ejection, your comment is not true. The ITB is not based on the last batter out or the last batter of the previous inning, but the last player due to bat the inning in which the ITB is applied.

The inning would begin with B8 on 2nd base.


Leecedar Sun Dec 12, 2004 06:00pm

Thanks Mike...

SC Ump Mon Dec 13, 2004 02:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
...the last player due to bat the inning in which the ITB is applied.

The inning would begin with B8 on 2nd base.


In ASA fastpitch, can a team go to 'short handed' and then return to full strength if an injured player feels better or a legal substitute arrives? If so, wouldn't B9 be the last batter due to bat in the inning, and when unwilling/unable to participate be ruled out?

Leecedar... excellent question. Thanks.

jstark23 Mon Dec 13, 2004 03:13am

<quote>In ASA fastpitch, can a team go to 'short handed' and then return to full strength if an injured player feels better<quote>
No
POE 47 Continuing after starting with full team
Subsection D
When a team plays shorthanded because a players leaves the games the player cannot return to the lineup. EXCEPTION: A player being treated under teh blood rule can return (Rule 4, Section 8)
Now to the Original question:
POE 47 Subsection G.
(Womens Fast Pitch Only) If a team is playing shorthanded and is involved in the tiebreaker, and it is the shorthanded spot on the batting order who is supposed to to begin play at second base, no out should be declared. Instead, place on second base the player whose name precedes the absent player's name in the line-up

IRISHMAFIA Mon Dec 13, 2004 01:42pm

The actual ASA rule covering this is 5.11.B


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1