![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			OK, had this happen last night -- 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	With a runner at 1st and 1 out, batter hits a ground ball to 2nd baseman. She throws it to 2nd, and before the shortstop can complete her transfer of the ball to her throwing hand, they make contact -- she hits the fielder's catching arm. Runner is safe at 1st. Is there interference by a retired runner?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			This is a definite HTBT. It also depends on whether there was a play at 1B. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			In Fed baseball (and maybe softball, I don't know) outs can be granted for certain contact whether there was a play or not, but not in ASA. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			It is interference by a retired runner if deliberate and on obvious opportunity for a double play.  
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |