The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Running lane surprise ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/16173-running-lane-surprise-ruling.html)

Steve M Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:10pm

KBoy - Let me second Tom's welcome and agree with his summary of why most umpires dislike this interpretation - whether Fed or college and we're hoping not ASA. "Qaulity throw" might be worth searching for, too.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Nov 08, 2004 08:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Steve M

Mike - Any chance that ASA is going to make this rule change?

I've only talked to one fast-pitch oriented member of the NUS and he wasn't aware of any talk in regards to this subject.

I'll keep asking around.


WestMichBlue Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:19am

This argument intrigues me because we have two different organizations that have written identical rules, but seemingly there is a difference in opinion as how to apply the rule.

ASA and NFHS books both say “Batter-Runner is out when “she (NFHS) (batter-runner in ASA) runs outside the three foot lane and, in the judgment of the umpire, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base.”

Doesn’t say anything about making a play or trying to get an out, or “dodgeball” – no, both books simply say interfering with the fielder taking the throw. (THE throw has no definition nor restrictions.)

Both books list several ways that a batter can become a batter-runner; both books agree that a fourth ball called by the umpire creates a batter-runner.

Now we part ways. NFHS has consistently said, and has put it in writing, that a batter-runner as a result of a walk is subject to this rule. ASA supposedly is saying, “No, a batter-runner created by a walk is NOT subject to this rule. Other than the opinions expressed on these Internet forums, is there any writing by ASA (POE, Case, other ASA documents) that states this type of a batter-runner is excluded from this rule?


Leaving that question for a while to await your answer, let me explore something else. ASA and NFHS have different opinions on how a walked batter gets to first base.

NFHS lumps batter-runners created by walks, dropped third strikes, and fair hit balls and says they are entitled to score by advancing to first base (and 2nd, 3rd, home).

ASA selects out the walked batter and says the batter-runner is awarded first base.

The only time NFHS awards first base to a batter is when no other play can occur, such as after runner interference, or hit batter, or catcher obstruction.

Question: Can play go on before the award is completed? Seem obvious because we can tag out a runner off the base if that runner was not forced by the “award.” But you can’t call a runner out for a LBR violation until the award is completed. Is ASA saying that you cannot play on the batter-runner until the award is complete? Thus there can be no interference until the batter-runner has reached first base? These statements seem contradictory.

Did ASA make a mistake by “awarding” first base rather than telling the batter-runner to proceed or “advance” to first base?

WMB

Dakota Tue Nov 09, 2004 09:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
ASA and NFHS books both say “Batter-Runner is out when “she (NFHS) (batter-runner in ASA) runs outside the three foot lane and, in the judgment of the umpire, <font size=5><font color=red>interferes</font></font> with the fielder taking the throw at first base.”

Doesn’t say anything about making a play ...

What did the BR do?

What is the definition of what she did?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1