The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   2 Man Mechanics ASA Slowpitch (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/15977-2-man-mechanics-asa-slowpitch.html)

Ump18 Mon Oct 18, 2004 08:39pm

Hey Everybody,

I am new to the board but ahve been umpiring for a while. Was watching a game the other night and wanted to pass along something I saw.

Situation: ASA Slowpitch, 2 Man Crew, R2 and R3 with one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left field. Both runners are tagging. Left fielder comes up throwing to 3B and nails the runner. Here is where I think there was a mechanical breakdown. The Plate umpire comes up to make the call at 3B while the Base Ump is standing around 2B. Runner from 2B is dead meat but the runner from 3B had went home and neither umpire knew if the run scored before the 3rd out. I maintain that it should have been the Base Umpires call and that the Plate ump should have stayed home for the possible play at the plate. The mechanics book seems to verify this also. Just looking for any comments you all may have. Thanks

UMP18

IRISHMAFIA Tue Oct 19, 2004 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ump18
Hey Everybody,

I am new to the board but ahve been umpiring for a while. Was watching a game the other night and wanted to pass along something I saw.

Situation: ASA Slowpitch, 2 Man Crew, R2 and R3 with one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left field. Both runners are tagging. Left fielder comes up throwing to 3B and nails the runner. Here is where I think there was a mechanical breakdown. The Plate umpire comes up to make the call at 3B while the Base Ump is standing around 2B. Runner from 2B is dead meat but the runner from 3B had went home and neither umpire knew if the run scored before the 3rd out. I maintain that it should have been the Base Umpires call and that the Plate ump should have stayed home for the possible play at the plate. The mechanics book seems to verify this also. Just looking for any comments you all may have. Thanks

UMP18

1. Welcome to the board!
2. Just a note: Speaking softball, runners are defined by their batting position in that inning, not which base they occupied at the pitch (baseball). IOW, if you said there were runners on 3rd & 2nd, we would assume R1 and R2 respectively.
3. As noted on page 241 of this year's ASA rule book (umpire edition), the base umpire is responsible for all runners at 2nd on a tag-up situation.


Ump18 Tue Oct 19, 2004 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by Ump18
Hey Everybody,

I am new to the board but ahve been umpiring for a while. Was watching a game the other night and wanted to pass along something I saw.

Situation: ASA Slowpitch, 2 Man Crew, R2 and R3 with one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left field. Both runners are tagging. Left fielder comes up throwing to 3B and nails the runner. Here is where I think there was a mechanical breakdown. The Plate umpire comes up to make the call at 3B while the Base Ump is standing around 2B. Runner from 2B is dead meat but the runner from 3B had went home and neither umpire knew if the run scored before the 3rd out. I maintain that it should have been the Base Umpires call and that the Plate ump should have stayed home for the possible play at the plate. The mechanics book seems to verify this also. Just looking for any comments you all may have. Thanks

UMP18

1. Welcome to the board!
2. Just a note: Speaking softball, runners are defined by their batting position in that inning, not which base they occupied at the pitch (baseball). IOW, if you said there were runners on 3rd & 2nd, we would assume R1 and R2 respectively.
3. As noted on page 241 of this year's ASA rule book (umpire edition), the base umpire is responsible for all runners at 2nd on a tag-up situation.


Thanks Mike. I had the pleaseure of working with one of your fellow umpires Bruce Weaver at this years Womens Class "C" nationals in Auburndale, Fl.

I only posted this situation because it seems that there are many different mechanics used around the country and I myself would have definately (as Base Umpire) would have been at 3rd for the call.

Thanks again!


SC Ump Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:48pm

I think you are correct, that the the play at third was the BU call.

CecilOne Wed Oct 20, 2004 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ump18
Hey Everybody,

I am new to the board but ahve been umpiring for a while. Was watching a game the other night and wanted to pass along something I saw.

Situation: ASA Slowpitch, 2 Man Crew, R2 and R3 with one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left field. Both runners are tagging. Left fielder comes up throwing to 3B and nails the runner. Here is where I think there was a mechanical breakdown. The Plate umpire comes up to make the call at 3B while the Base Ump is standing around 2B. Runner from 2B is dead meat but the runner from 3B had went home and neither umpire knew if the run scored before the 3rd out. I maintain that it should have been the Base Umpires call and that the Plate ump should have stayed home for the possible play at the plate. The mechanics book seems to verify this also. Just looking for any comments you all may have. Thanks

UMP18

Assuming there was no tag up problem, there was to be no play at 2nd, so what was BU doing? The more serious issue would have been if the play went to home. Would the PU have still been there for that? As far as I'm concerned, two runners means one each.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Oct 20, 2004 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Assuming there was no tag up problem, there was to be no play at 2nd, so what was BU doing? The more serious issue would have been if the play went to home. Would the PU have still been there for that? As far as I'm concerned, two runners means one each.
The play on the single runner belongs to the BU so there is no question of home being covered.

Some "deviation" mechanics morph into what some believe to be gospel. This is one of them. PU takes 3B and BU rotates toward the plate. It works for some crews, but it isn't the true mechanic.


CecilOne Wed Oct 20, 2004 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Assuming there was no tag up problem, there was to be no play at 2nd, so what was BU doing? The more serious issue would have been if the play went to home. Would the PU have still been there for that? As far as I'm concerned, two runners means one each.
The play on the single runner belongs to the BU so there is no question of home being covered.

Some "deviation" mechanics morph into what some believe to be gospel. This is one of them. PU takes 3B and BU rotates toward the plate. It works for some crews, but it isn't the true mechanic.


Does that mean you agree that the true mechanic is PU takes the lead runner (in this case, at home) and the BU takes the trail runner (in this case, at 3rd)?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Assuming there was no tag up problem, there was to be no play at 2nd, so what was BU doing? The more serious issue would have been if the play went to home. Would the PU have still been there for that? As far as I'm concerned, two runners means one each.
The play on the single runner belongs to the BU so there is no question of home being covered.

Some "deviation" mechanics morph into what some believe to be gospel. This is one of them. PU takes 3B and BU rotates toward the plate. It works for some crews, but it isn't the true mechanic.


Does that mean you agree that the true mechanic is PU takes the lead runner (in this case, at home) and the BU takes the trail runner (in this case, at 3rd)?

Yes


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1