![]() |
Help me out here, I glance at the ASA Rule Book yesterday just to read on stuff. Had this question come up. I don't know where it is in the book cause I can't find it now.
Question is If a player is going to out to the diamond (field) and is not the pitcher, he/she thats the ball and pitch the ball to the plate and then leaves to there position. Doesn't that player have to pitch that inning? Help me out! Thanks, Buddha Hey Jel, Gald to see you and the family is "OK". You coming up to watch the Class "D" tourney this weekend. We have 32 ladies team coming from all over. |
ASA, check Rule 6 Section 6 of Slow Pitch regarding warm up pitches.
I did not find anything that said if you pitch a warm up you must pitch to a batter. I think it would be the same as a player taking infield (if allowed) from 3B and playing 2B in the inning. I did not find anything that states a player replaacing a pitcher must pitch to any batter |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Thanks guys for clearing that up for me!
|
From somewhere came this idea that if a player other than the pitcher throws a warm-up pitch, he has to pitch to the next batter. I've heard teams talk about having that called on them in tournaments. Maybe U-Trip or NSA has that rule.
|
Quote:
|
It's an USSSA rule that if a defensive player pitches a warmup pitch, he/she shall pitch to the first batter of the inning. I can't remember the exact rule citation (don't have my book with me at work).
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27am. |