The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 05:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
It's in those rulebooks, but just perhaps not in the wording you expected. All the rulebooks state similarly:

For a legal "tag" (not what you asked about), the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the hand or glove holding the ball.

In a "force" play (your situation), the fielder need only touch the base while in possession of the ball.

In your play, the fielder had possession of the ball (in the bare hand) and touched the base (with the glove) so this would have been an out if it were done prior to the runner reaching the base.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1