The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14822-interference.html)

WinterWillie Mon Aug 02, 2004 09:47pm

Is it possible to not have interfence it the offensive player
touches the defensive player with her hand (Fed rules only)?

whiskers_ump Mon Aug 02, 2004 09:52pm

Could you expand a little bit on that?


WinterWillie Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:05pm

Interference
 
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Could you expand a little bit on that?


R1 on second, BR hits ball to F6, R1 runs behind F6 and touches F6 gently with her hand on F6's back as she (F6) throws to first base.

bluezebra Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:13pm

INTERFERENCE. Why would touching with her hand make a difference?

WestMichBlue Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:38pm

"Is it possible to not have interfence it the offensive player touches the defensive player with her hand (Fed rules only)?"

YES! One of my favorate obscure case rulings. "F2, without the ball and with no chance to catch the ball, is blocking home plate. R1 pushes F2, but not flagrantly, out of the base path and touches home plate. RULING: Obstruction (which is dropped when R1 touches home plate safely."

HOWEVER, in the scenario provided I would have to say "Interference."

WMB

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:31am

Re: Interference
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Could you expand a little bit on that?


R1 on second, BR hits ball to F6, R1 runs behind F6 and touches F6 gently with her hand on F6's back as she (F6) throws to first base.

Don't know, did it appear to interfere with the player's ability to make a play?

CecilOne Tue Aug 03, 2004 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
"Is it possible to not have interfence it the offensive player touches the defensive player with her hand (Fed rules only)?"

YES! One of my favorate obscure case rulings. "F2, without the ball and with no chance to catch the ball, is blocking home plate. R1 pushes F2, but not flagrantly, out of the base path and touches home plate. RULING: Obstruction (which is dropped when R1 touches home plate safely."

HOWEVER, in the scenario provided I would have to say "Interference."

WMB

Relevance ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1