The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 26, 2004, 08:51am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
The rule book is the best source to answer this one. The term Dropped Third Strike is used in the index only. The rule is ASA 8-1-B; The batter becomes a batter-runner.

(Fast Pitch Only) When the catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground when;
1. There are fewer than two outs and first base is unoccupied at the time of the pitch, or,
2. There are two outs and first base is occupied. This is called the third strike rule.

If the ball bounces to the plate, it touched the ground, and wasn't caught "before the ball touches the ground".

Chad, This confuses a lot of people, players and coaches alike, but it becomes clear when you see the rule in balck and white. Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1