The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Illegal Pitch - Another Scenario (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14662-illegal-pitch-another-scenario.html)

VaASAump Mon Jul 19, 2004 08:20am

OK. We discussed the dropped ball and catcher running in front of plate to retrieve ball. Now another scenario (and yes, it really happened).

R1 on 1B. No outs. As pitcher goes into windup, the ball slips from her hand. But instead of ball dropping to ground, it goes straight up and pitcher catches it on the way down. The ball never touched the ground.

What's your call?

Serg

JEL Mon Jul 19, 2004 08:29am

Illegal pitch, Dead Ball, R1 to 2B.

Ref ASA 6-3-A

Bandit Mon Jul 19, 2004 09:59am

What am I missing here ?
 
I undersatnd ball to the batter but why illegal ? The rule # I'm seeing posted by JEL (and I'm looking at the FP section) is "Legal Delivery". What am I missing ?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 19, 2004 10:04am

Re: What am I missing here ?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Bandit
I undersatnd ball to the batter but why illegal ? The rule # I'm seeing posted by JEL (and I'm looking at the FP section) is "Legal Delivery". What am I missing ?
I'm with you, Bandit. If the umpire judges the ball to have slipped out of the pitcher's hand, it is covered by 6F.11. It's a ball on the batter, and still in play, though I doubt any runner would even consider advancing if the pitcher has the ball in their hands.

Once it is obvious the runners are not going to attempt to go and the pitcher has control of the ball, I'm cleaning the plate.


pollywolly60 Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:27pm

6F.11?

pollywolly60 Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:29pm

Never mind. I found it. Rule 6, Section 11 (fast pitch).

JEL Mon Jul 19, 2004 03:05pm

Right Bandit, I missed it. Is illegal but still live. 6-11 covers it. Excuse my hasty reply.

Elaine "Lady Blue" Mon Jul 19, 2004 04:00pm

I say Illegal pitch, ball on the batter, R1 to 2nd. Is that not correct??

http://instagiber.net/smiliesdotcom/.../dvv/sconf.gif

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 19, 2004 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Elaine "Lady Blue"
I say Illegal pitch, ball on the batter, R1 to 2nd. Is that not correct??

Sure, it's correct.....as long as R1 gets to 2B before being put out.

Actually, no, it's not correct. Read from the top.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1