![]() |
There is a runner on second, one out. Ball is hit in the air to the centerfield. Right center jumps in the air, tips the ball. Runner on second runs to third. Left center fielder catches the ball before it hits the ground. Runner does not return to second, continues to third and scores. Left center fielder throws ball to short stop and touches second base. What's the ruling?
|
Assuming runner was in contact with second when the ball was tipped.
Batter out. Run scores. |
The runner was in contact with base.
However, I thought the rule was for a fielder tipping the ball to himself, not to another player. Anyone have the actual wording of the rule? |
The runner is released on the first contact with the ball.
|
rspost,
Here is the ASA rule. 8-8-L RUNNER IS NOT OUT: When the runner stays on the base until a fly ball touches a fielder and then attempts to advance. No mention of tipping, or fielder making the touch, only ball touching fielder. Hope this helps |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am. |