The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2001, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
What's the Call - ASA Ruling

The appeal is legal since it was requested prior to a legal or illegal pitch to the next batter.

As of 1998 I believe, ASA has allowed all outs made on the play involving the wrong batter putting the ball into play to stand. (2 outs)

All runners not retired must return to the last base touched at the time of the pitch last pitch to the improper batter. (no runs may score)

The batter that was due to bat (B5) is ruled out for failing to take his turn at bat. (third out)

The next batter is the one due after the batter ruled out. (B6)

And B7 gets the opportunity to hit into another double play next inning :-)



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1