The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   "Must slide" !!! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14553-must-slide.html)

3afan Mon Jul 12, 2004 01:53pm

USSSA 14U-A state tournament: Def coach insists that R1 going from 1B to 2B must slide ... he is told no, R1 does not have to slide, she just cannot interfere in any way, if she does then the BR can be called out also. That's correct, isnt it? Thx .............

JEL Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:24pm

That is correct. R1 may also be called for interference EVEN IF SHE DOES SLIDE. Then you got a double play.

Dakota Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JEL
R1 may also be called for interference EVEN IF SHE DOES SLIDE.
What are you thinking here, Jel? Illegal slide? Intentional interference (e.g. waving arms)?

Otherwise, a legal slide is legal contact.

SouthPaw Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:47pm

Yes, please explain interferance on a slide. I always assumed that as long as you slide & touch the bag with some part of your body, you can go in as hard as you want to break up a double play.

Steve M Mon Jul 12, 2004 04:49pm

So U-Trip has something similar to Fed BB's force-play silde rule? If so, I could easily live with that.

Skahtboi Mon Jul 12, 2004 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Steve M
So U-Trip has something similar to Fed BB's force-play silde rule? If so, I could easily live with that.
Nope. The USSSA rule is real similar to ASA. Here is what USSSA FP says:

The runner is out:

-When he does not legally slide and causes illegal contact and/or illegally alters the actions of a fielder in the immediate act of making a play on him.

Effect: The runner is out and the ball is dead immediately.

Note: Runners are never required to slide but, if the runner elects to slide, the slide shall be legal.

-He does not legally attempt to avoid a fielder in the immediate act of making a play on him.

Effect: The runner is out and the ball remains alive unless interference is called.



3afan Mon Jul 12, 2004 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Steve M
So U-Trip has something similar to Fed BB's force-play silde rule? If so, I could easily live with that.
No - they do not have to slide, just can't interfere

JEL Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by JEL
R1 may also be called for interference EVEN IF SHE DOES SLIDE.
What are you thinking here, Jel? Illegal slide? Intentional interference (e.g. waving arms)?

Otherwise, a legal slide is legal contact.

I didn't say LEGAL slide!
Got 2 "leg high's" in BB this yaer, 1 in co-ed. Don't see it much in youth FP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1