The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Dropped 3rd strike? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14437-dropped-3rd-strike.html)

achyfuzzball Sat Jul 03, 2004 11:10am

I know this is going to sounds like a stupid question but, what constitutes a "dropped 3rd strike"? I know, ball gets by F2 ect, but what if ball hits ground before reaching home plate, batter swings, catcher fields the ball on the bounce? Checked the ASA rule book, but not being very smart, was not very clear to me. Thanks in advance..

WestMichBlue Sat Jul 03, 2004 11:36am

Technically, it is an un-caught third strike. The ball must be caught. To be caught, the ball must be in-flight. If the ball touches the ground, it is not in-flight.

WMB

okieblue Sat Jul 03, 2004 03:51pm

Achy,
Check out Rule 1 in the ASA rule book. Look under trapped ball. This should clear it up for you.

JEL Sat Jul 03, 2004 04:13pm

Re-read 8-1-B

.....catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground....

Notice;
ball can touch ground anywhere between pitcher and catcher, also, there is no mention of a swing by the batter...

SC Ump Sat Jul 03, 2004 10:05pm

On minor exception (if I was taught correctly):

If the pitch should touch the ground, bounce up and the batter's bat makes contact with the ball... and then the ball goes directly to the catchers glove/mitt, and the catcher catches the ball... it is then considered a (caught) foul tip and an out.

Dakota Sun Jul 04, 2004 12:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by SC Ump
If the pitch should touch the ground, bounce up and the batter's bat makes contact with the ball... and then the ball goes directly to the catchers glove/mitt, and the catcher catches the ball... it is then considered a (caught) foul tip and an out.
Only if there were already 2 strikes.

The main point here is that once the bat makes contact with the ball, the status of the ball changes from a pitched ball to a batted ball. Whether the ball hit the ground prior to becoming a batted ball is irrelevant. It is a batted ball like any other batted ball.

bellnier Tue Jul 06, 2004 09:49am

Let me get it straight...sorry if I'm belaboring this point. 1B unoccupied. Batter has 2 strikes. Pitch bounces in front of plate, but directly into catcher's glove. Batter swings at pitch and misses. Q: This follows dropped 3rd strike rule and therefore catcher MUST tag BR or throw to 1B for out?

JEL Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:43am

bellnier,

That is correct.


achyfuzzball Sat Jul 10, 2004 09:49am

Thanks for all the replies, that is what I thought, but just wanted to make sure..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1