The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Men's - runner hit by batted ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14432-asa-mens-runner-hit-batted-ball.html)

Robmoz Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:31am

Three situations to consider please, all very similar yet different.

1) R1 on first with ONE out, B1 drills a liner that hits R1 who is off the bag in fair territory the ball ricochets into DBT.

2) R1 on first base with ONE out, B1 drills a liner that hits R1 who steps into foul territory to avoid but still gets drilled and the ball ricochets into DBT.

3) R1 on first base with ONE out, B1 drills a liner that hits R1 who steps into foul territory to avoid but still gets drilled and the ball ricochets into FAIR territory.

In sitch #1 I had R1 out, dead ball and B1 gets 2B.
In sitch #2 I had dead ball resume the at-bat.

Sitch #3 did not occur but am wondering on the call.

What say you all?

greymule Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:21pm

1. R1 out. Batter gets 1B. (Assuming the ball had not passed a fielder. Was F3 by any chance playing in front of the runner?)
2. Foul ball.
3. Foul ball.


Robmoz Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
1. R1 out. Batter gets 1B. (Assuming the ball had not passed a fielder. Was F3 by any chance playing in front of the runner?)
2. Foul ball.
3. Foul ball.


In #1 B1 gets 1B only, is that because the ball becomes dead immediately after hitting R1 and DBT is not to be considered? I was thinking two bases for going into DBT.

Dakota Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
1. R1 out. Batter gets 1B. (Assuming the ball had not passed a fielder. Was F3 by any chance playing in front of the runner?)
2. Foul ball.
3. Foul ball.


In #1 B1 gets 1B only, is that because the ball becomes dead immediately after hitting R1 and DBT is not to be considered? I was thinking two bases for going into DBT.

The runner (#1) is guilty of interference. The effect is in rule 8-7 after section Q. The ball is dead and runners return. You don't reward the offense with extra bases for interference just because the ball interferred with went into DBT.

In #2 and #3, the ball is dead and foul as soon as it contacts the runner in foul territory.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1