The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 26, 2004, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
I have just moved and do not have any rulebooks to verify this, but here is my memory of what I have been taught. I apologize if I am mixing up a couple of different orgs (FED, ASA or NSA).

It is dependent on who supplies the impetus causing the ball to go into DBT. Examples:

1. Ball is hit, rolling toward a DBT and a fielder touches the ball, perhaps changing its direction, but the ball was still going fast enough from the force of being hit, that it went into DBT: award two bases from time of pitch.

2. Ball is hit and either stopped or rolling so slowing that it will not reach any DBT. A fielder mishandles the ball in some way and the fielder causes it to accidentally go into DBT: award one base from the time the ball entered DBT, the same as if the ball is mishandled during a tag play.

[Edited by SC Ump on Jun 27th, 2004 at 02:04 AM]
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1