The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   error? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14192-error.html)

flyin_crew_chief Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:14pm

Out fielder is playing in moderate to shallow. Ball is hit, fielder takes a step or two in and starts running back. The ball carries in the wind over his head. Is it an error or a hit?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by flyin_crew_chief
Out fielder is playing in moderate to shallow. Ball is hit, fielder takes a step or two in and starts running back. The ball carries in the wind over his head. Is it an error or a hit?
This is pretty much an umpire's board and I see no reason why an umpire would care except that it means we are going to need to hustle a bit more to cover the play :)


flyin_crew_chief Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:19pm

sorry!! I was just looking for something that coulod help in scoring. We have a "Kangaroo Court" to make money for the team party at the end of the season.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by flyin_crew_chief
sorry!! I was just looking for something that coulod help in scoring. We have a "Kangaroo Court" to make money for the team party at the end of the season.
There's no problem. There may actually be someone familiar with scorekeeping who will give you a serious answer to your question. Just didn't want you thinking we were blowing you off.


woolnojg Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:32pm

Most likely it is a hit. Errors, in general, are physical misplays not mental mistakes.

whiskers_ump Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:38pm

Wind blown ball would be an act of God, credit a hit to
the batter.

Skahtboi Wed Jun 16, 2004 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Wind blown ball would be an act of God, credit a hit to
the batter...

...or possibly to God! :D

mcrowder Wed Jun 16, 2004 05:27pm

That's a hit in any book. You'll even see a popup, F4 planted under it, ball mysteriously hits the ground without touching F4 - and it be called a hit.

BoomerSooner Wed Jun 23, 2004 04:42am

Typically the situation with F4 planted under the ball and missing it completely has to do with the wind or sun hindering the players ability to make the catch and in such cases a hit is scored. However a play in which f4 completly misses it without outside interference (normally seen as F4 lunging for the ball because he/she has misplayed it and just missing) should be scored as an error. The situation originally in question should be scored a hit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1