The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Pop-up to Pitcher (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14080-pop-up-pitcher.html)

reed2310 Wed Jun 09, 2004 07:41pm

Batter hits pop-up btween pitcher and catcher,Pitcher calls for it and then backs off and ball hits her foot and no other part of her body, bounces up and catcher grabs it before it hits the ground. Umpire calls it fair and runner is safe. I call Bull_ _ _ _! Was he right or was the batter OUT. N.S.A Fastpitch rules.

Ed Maeder Wed Jun 09, 2004 07:46pm

If it only hit foot and not the ground I have a catch.

TexBlue Wed Jun 09, 2004 07:50pm

You're alwasy looking for outs. If it hit only the foot of the defensive player and nothing else, you have an out.

reed2310 Wed Jun 09, 2004 07:55pm

It was all foot because her middle toe looks like her big toe...

whiskers_ump Wed Jun 09, 2004 09:03pm

Will ECHOoo EChooo what all others have said, <b>Its a
catch</b>

The ball did not strike anything other than the defensive player
while it was in flight, then it is a valid catch. Umpire,
ground or
runner, then no catch, ground ball.


[Edited by whiskers_ump on Jun 10th, 2004 at 06:42 AM]

reed2310 Wed Jun 09, 2004 09:11pm

Where does it say that in the rule book if you please.

Ed Maeder Wed Jun 09, 2004 09:21pm

ASA definitions of a Catch. Rule 1 Catch E "A ball which strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in flight is ruled the same as if it struck the ground."

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Jun 9th, 2004 at 10:23 PM]

Dakota Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:06pm

One question, reed, did the umpire agree that the ball did not hit the ground? IOW, did he see that it hit only the foot?

kellerumps Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:18am

I have an out....If I heard you say B---S---....Then I also have an ejection....Sorry.

azbigdawg Thu Jun 10, 2004 03:56am

It wouldnt be so confusing to you if you werent calling NSA.... that ugly softball has your mind clouded

reed2310 Thu Jun 10, 2004 06:28am

Y4es the umpire said he agreed the ball did not hit the ground. he said it had to go past the mound before it could be caught for an out unless it had tipped off her glove. That is when i called b_ _ _ s _ _ _ and a few other words i regret and i deserved to be tossed but so did he.

JEL Thu Jun 10, 2004 07:34am

No, Reed2310, Making an improper ruling such as that, the umpire "deserves" to have game protested.

Making a "b___ s___ call and a few other words" are precursors for ejection.

You had a protestable situation there, but lost it. Game possibly could have been re-played and may have been done with a different umpiring crew. Most coaches though would be tempted to use your reply rather than a protest, can't say I really blame them!

How did game come out?

greymule Thu Jun 10, 2004 07:37am

<b>he said it had to go past the mound before it could be caught for an out unless it had tipped off her glove.</b>

Are you kidding?

mcrowder Thu Jun 10, 2004 08:13am

Blue: "It had to go past the mound before it could be caught for an out unless it had tipped off her glove."

You: "Interesting rule you just invented blue, I'm afraid I'm going to have to protest that."

Note - the key word here is PROTEST (which requires the umpire to note the game situation so that you can replay this game from this point after the committee overrules him and perhaps boots him from the league). The key word here is NOT "B---S---!", which sets a completely different tone, and likely absolves you of your further coaching duties.

reed2310 Thu Jun 10, 2004 08:21am

We won 4-3. Yes he did say it had to go past the mound. Thanks for all of your input . I respect all of your opinions.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1