The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Rules? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/14045-asa-rules.html)

Rob04 Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:52am

What is the offical wording in the ASA rule book for how many feet have to be in the batters box before the ball is pitched?

SamNVa Tue Jun 08, 2004 09:22am

"Prior to the pitch, the batter must have both feet completely within the lines of the batter's box. The batter may touch the lines, but no part of the foot may be outside the lines prior to the pitch."

SamC

Bluefoot Tue Jun 08, 2004 09:48am

It's Rule 7, Section 3, citation A. But the book offers no penalty for violation of this rule. What is the correct procedure to follow if a batter has part of a foot outside the lines prior to a pitch? Should the umpire tell the batter to get in the box, and if he fails to do so, call a strike?

Also, what if the batter has the ball of one foot on the line of the box, with the heel of the same foot up in the air outside the batter's box? Is the batter's foot considered to be outside of the box, even if that part of the foot is not touching the ground?

Thanks.

Dakota Tue Jun 08, 2004 09:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bluefoot
It's Rule 7, Section 3, citation A. But the book offers no penalty for violation of this rule. What is the correct procedure to follow if a batter has part of a foot outside the lines prior to a pitch? Should the umpire tell the batter to get in the box, and if he fails to do so, call a strike?
Correct. A goes with B. Direct the batter to get in the box. If the batter does not, call a strike and repeat the direction to the batter to get in the box.

Quote:

Originally posted by Bluefoot
Also, what if the batter has the ball of one foot on the line of the box, with the heel of the same foot up in the air outside the batter's box? Is the batter's foot considered to be outside of the box, even if that part of the foot is not touching the ground?

Thanks.

As long as no part of the foot is on the ground across the lines, the batter is legal.

Bluefoot Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:00am

Thanks much, Tom. And thanks for being quick.

Rob04 Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:47am

So unless it is the 3rd strike the batter should not be called out?

Rob04 Tue Jun 08, 2004 11:42am

What is the rule once the pitch has been made. When the batter makes contact he has to have both feet in the box or he is called out?

Dakota Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rob04
So unless it is the 3rd strike the batter should not be called out?
Correct.

It is important to remember that this is a delay of game situation, and ample use of warnings should precede and go between any strike calls.

SamNVa Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:15pm

Once the pitch has been delivered, an entirely different rule governs the play, namely rule 7.6.D-F. A batter is out when contact is made with the ball and <ol><li>one or both feet are on the ground completely outside the box, <li>either foot is touching homeplate, or <li>the batter has left the box to gain a running start but has reentered the box when the ball is hit.</ol>

SamC

Dakota Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rob04
What is the rule once the pitch has been made. When the batter makes contact he has to have both feet in the box or he is called out?
ASA Rule 7-6D
Quote:

The batter is out when an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box when the ball makes contact with the bat.

Rob04 Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:27pm

Thanks for everyones help


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1